Southern AB Receives $1.2M for EV Charging Stations

Lethbridge is the first of at least 20 communities that will benefit from a new network of electric vehicle charging stations across southern Alberta.

The Government of Alberta is providing $1.2 million in Climate Leadership Plan funding to the Community Energy Association to support the Peaks to Prairies Southern Alberta Electric Vehicle Network.

When completed, the Peaks to Prairies network will cover more than 1,700 kilometres of southern Alberta highways and transition the region to full electric vehicle connectivity. The charging stations will be powered by 100 per cent renewable energy from southern Alberta.

The Peaks to Prairies network addresses a gap in charging infrastructure across southern Alberta by developing a base network for electric vehicle charging stations. The network will give electric vehicle users access to more cultural and recreational opportunities throughout southern Alberta. Placing charging stations in recreational and retail areas of small communities will help boost tourism and economic development, inspire further investment in the region and reduce emissions.

The Peaks to Prairies network will connect at least 20 communities in southern Alberta.

Charging stations are expected to be installed in:

  • Lethbridge
  • Canmore
  • Morley
  • Calgary – Olympic Park
  • Calgary – Stoney Trail
  • Calgary – East
  • Calgary – Signal Hill
  • Nanton
  • Claresholm
  • Crowsnest Pass
  • Pincher Creek
  • Fort Macleod
  • Taber
  • Medicine Hat
  • Chain Lakes Reservoir
  • Carmangay
  • Waterton Lakes
  • Cardston
  • Warner
  • Longview

The network is expected to be completed by December 2019.

Click here to view the full original article:

Image taken from: